Southwest Association of Rail Shippers

The Southwest Association of Rail Shippers territory includes the Republic of Mexico and the states of Arizona, Arkansas, Southern California (from and including Fresno and points South thereof), Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and Utah.

The objective of the association is to provide an open forum for railroads and shippers to meet and discuss matters of mutual interest. Topics include, but are not limited to, service, car supply, scheduling, operating practices, technology, etc. Meetings are held twice a year in the spring and fall at varying locations in the territory. Annual dues are included in meeting registration fees.


Susan Cox, Outgoing SWARS President SWARS’ 2016 Person of the Year
(L) SWARS Incoming President Doug Lumry and (R) outgoing President Susan Cox.
Ray Hufnagel (R), Plastic Express,
receiving plaque from Jennifer Fussell (KCS),
2015 Person of the Year.